Simple Green Me

Cultural reporter for KUTV 2News and adjunct yoga/meditation professor blogs about wellness, green living, downsizing, simplifying, better travel✨and more. Offering mindfulness, meditation, goal-setting and decluttering coaching!

Being present starts with your phone

Leave a comment


I crashed on my bike because of my phone. A whole weekend with an ice pack on my crotch, and I get the message. I need to kick this phone addiction.

Whether (I think) I’m being discreet or not, my family notices. A quick scroll here, and tap-tap for a comment there, and other swipes throughout the day tell my family that during breakfast or the library or a beautiful walk outside that they’re not my priority. 

I don’t want my son to think I want to hear about his day only after I “finish this text real quick.” Or that my husband doesn’t deserve eye contact until after I post on all my accounts for the day.

And what about my mental wellbeing? How can I be peaceful if I constantly have one foot in the technology circus all hours of the day? Wouldn’t I be more calm, loving and patient if I didn’t have the never ending nag of notifications interrupting my borderline perfect life?  I think I’d be more free of mental clutter if I had less electro static in my life.

So this is where I make a commitment. I promise myself and my family I will abide by the following rules so I can break my phone habit and live life in the present.

1. Move my social media and email icons to the last page on my screen. That way I don’t see the notifications when I check the time or for texts from hubby.

2. Check email 3 times a day. That way, I dont miss anything urgent but I don’t make myself available all day long!

3. Post only one time a day on each social media account. No matter how cute that picture is or how poignant the thought, I get to enjoy life without having to share it with the world all the time!

4. Check for and Respond to social media comments only when I’m alone or have designated phone time. No comment is worth blowing off kids or husbands.

5. Turn off text notifications, besides the ones from my husband. I’ll check them on my terms! And if it’s really important, they’ll call.

What do you do to make sure your phone doesn’t control your life? Please share! 

Author: simplegreenme

I'm a mom, wife, certified yoga instructor and TV personality whose passion is coaching you toward a healthier, simpler, greener life! I use tools including yoga, organization and downsizing to create lives free of unnecessary STUFF and stress. Email me to start your journey toward Simple, Green, ME! simplegreenme@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

